Archive for the ‘CDs’ Category

Bon Voyage

Bon Voyage

In this evening Amarcord Wien takes a musical voyage throughout the world. The compositions of masters such as, Modest Mussorgsky, Dmitri Shostakovich, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Erik Satie — and naturally Astor Piazzola, a composer whose music Amarcord has been intimately involved with over many years.

Details +
Mahler Lieder

Mahler Lieder

Amarcord Wien and Elisabeth Kulman (mezzo soprano) with music from Gustav Mahler. Selected poems of Friedrich Rückert, from the “Songs of a Wayfarer” and the collection “Des Knaben Wunderhorn” are the central pieces of the evening.

Details +
Satie

Satie

Amarcord delves into the works of Erik Satie, creating from his minimalist piano works new soundscapes. Confronted with the musical poetry of Satie’s own aphorisms, they improvise around the simple enigmatic structures typical of his compositions. The fewer notes there are, the more vital it is how they are played.

Details +
Pictures at an Exhibition

Pictures at an Exhibition

This evening begins with the work Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Mussorgsky. Amarcord worked intensively to create a highly individual and groundbreaking arrangement which was enthusiastically embraced by the public received rave reviews for its CD recording.

Details +
Piazzolla

Piazzolla

An evening with music by the Argentine composer Astor Piazzolla. Sonorous arrangements for violin, cello, accordion and double bass. Milonga Loca, Caliente, Michelangelo 70, Soledad, the angel trilogy Milonga del Angel, Muerte del Angel and Resurrección del Angel and many other works by Piazzolla.

Details +

Archive for the ‘CDs’ Category

Bon Voyage

Bon Voyage

An diesem Abend reist AMARCORD musikalisch um die Welt und macht in verschiedenen Regionen der Erde Station. Unter den Komponisten gibt es bekannte Namen wie Modest Mussorgskij, Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Antonio Carlos Jobim und Erik Satie – und natürlich Astor Piazzolla, dessen Musik AMARCORD seit vielen Jahren begleitet.

Details +
Mahler Lieder

Mahler Lieder

Amarcord Wien und Elisabeth Kulman (Mezzosopran) mit Musik von Gustav Mahler. Ausgewählte Vertonungen der Gedichte Friedrich Rückerts, aus den „Liedern eines fahrenden Gesellen“ und der Sammlung „Des Knaben Wunderhorn“ sind die zentralen Stücke dieses Abends.

Details +
Satie

Satie

Amarcord beschäftigt sich auf seine Weise mit dem Œuvre Saties, formt aus den minimalistischen Klavierstücken neue Klangflächen, konfrontiert die musikalische Poesie Saties mit eigenen Aphorismen, improvisiert über die einfachen, eingängigen Strukturen seines Stils. Je weniger Noten da sind, desto mehr kommt es darauf an, wie man sie spielt.

Details +
Bilder einer Ausstellung

Bilder einer Ausstellung

Am Anfang dieses Abends stehen die Bilder einer Ausstellung von Modest Mussorgskij. Amarcord hat lange Zeit an einer Neubearbeitung dieses Klavierzyklus gearbeitet und für die sehr individuelle und ungewöhnliche Fassung wie auch für seine CD-Einspielung viel Zustimmung und überschwängliche Kritiken bekommen.

Details +
Piazzolla

Piazzolla

Ein Abend mit Musik des Argentiniers Astor Piazzolla in klangreichen Bearbeitungen für die Besetzung Geige, Cello, Akkordeon und Kontrabass. Milonga loca, Caliente, Michelangelo 70, Soledad, die 3 Engelsstücke Milonga del Angel, Muerte del Angel und Resurrección del Angel und viele weitere Werke des Komponisten Piazzolla.

Details +